Of the Millennium Trilogy

There are no innocents. There are, however, different degrees of responsibility. – The Girl Who Played with Fire, Stieg Larsson

I am trying to convince myself to put off watching the film adaptation of the Millennium Trilogy until I finish reading the last book. This act of temperance is, in all honesty, very hard to manage. I have been re-watching the trailers instead.

The first (The Girl with the Dragoon Tattoo) and second (The Girl Who Played with Fire) books are by far the most riveting stories I’ve read of its genre, i.e. crime/mystery. When I finished the first book, I realized I started with very little expectations and did not anticipate the stack of twists and turns in the plot. It has been a while since I had refused to turn off the lights at night after reading time. XD Of course, I may just happen to have a very active imagination, but what my mind currently likes to make up roots from the books’ macabre descriptions of murder, rape, and other obscenities. A few nights ago, during my vacation in Utah, I shamelessly asked my mom to scoot over to the edge of her bed so I can sleep beside her. XD I was too disturbed to sleep in my own bed, which was actually just adjacent her’s. XDDD

Speaking of Utah, I spent four days in Salt Lake City to see my mother, who is visiting from the Philippines and to attend my sister’s wedding. I was basically cut off from the rest of the world because my laptop’s charger stopped functioning about two weeks prior to that. So I didn’t bring any other gadget to SLC except for my Kindle and two mobile phones. My mom is well, but she seems very bored, which is understandable because she happens to be my mother. 😐 She doesn’t like being idle. And, frankly, this is the most idle she has been in years. I can’t remember her going on any vacation in the past except for those short three (?) days in Singapore with my brother a couple of months ago. She has about a week to go, and she’s giddy to go home. However, as also expected, she is having the time of her life with her first grandchild, Yana. Just seeing her sincerely happy with Yana was enough to melt my heart. And I can’t blame her, I had looked forward to that vacation myself because of Yana. If I believe in any magic right now, it would be because of her– and it would be her.

I will talk about Yana and my vacation in another entry. Right now, let’s go back to our initial topic. I actually put off finishing the second book because I was distracted by Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere. I decided to do that because it was starting to become very disturbing and I was in a patriotic trance. But as soon as I started reading again, I couldn’t put it down. Thank goodness for good books, I thought I would lose my sanity when my laptop broke. During my 7-hour flight to Utah and another 7 back to Indianapolis, I only alternated between napping and reading. I don’t even remember getting up for a restroom break; when I would wake up from a nap, my hand would automatically reach for my Kindle.

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played with Fire are both very well-written, several chapters were climactic and I was made to hold my breath more than once. I find Larsson’s writing so vivid. The only part I got disappointed was when Ronald Niedermann a.k.a. “The Giant” ran for his life after imagining that Salander turned into some kind of zombie. I mean, seriously? An almost 7-foot gym junkie? A flick of his wrist against your chest can break your ribs; he has superhuman strength. To top it off, he has congenital analgesia, therefore, he is unable to feel pain. And he still literally ran away like a scared six-year old? But I guess it was vital to the plot, so we could meet him again in the next book. :\ It’s just that his character’s personality is so ironic it’s almost weak. He started off murdering three people, and he ended up being freaked out by a barely five-foot and anorexic-looking girl. 😐

It is probably safe to say that the first book is independent of the others; however, the second doesn’t end with a conclusion, so the minute I finished it, I immediately downloaded The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. I read somewhere that Stieg Larsson had intended to write a series of 10 books, and the fourth book was halfway done when he passed away. He was not only a writer but was also an investigative journalist and a political activist, he’s a real-life Mikael Blomkvist (the book’s male protagonist) himself. The books’ theme circles around sexual violence against women. His feminist views stem from his own experience of witnessing a gang rape when he was 15 years old. According to his friend, Larsson failed to intervene in the rape of a woman named Lisbeth (the name he later used for the books’ female protagonist), which caused a life-long guilt and a commitment to protect women. He had tried to personally apologize to Lisbeth, but she never accepted. I guess he decided to write the series also as a form of apology. And he ended up writing a series of international bestsellers, which have been adapted into movies.

Reading time.

Today’s lesson: ENJOY THE SMALL THINGS IN LIFE, LIKE A GOOD BOOK. 🙂

One thought on “Of the Millennium Trilogy

Leave a Reply

